Book Review: You Never Know

Title: You Never Know (Sex, Lies, and Family Secrets #3)

Author: M.L. Tompsett



Leaving her family behind and turning her back on her destiny, Alex Smithlyn is a Dark One princess, living in the human realm. Recruited by the head of The Corporation, both Alex and Branx Rayden work as partners in the SFD or the Special Forces Department, in the City. Solving crimes, catching the bad guys and the bad paranormal entities gone rogue. Fighting for good, capturing and eliminating the evils of this world, until someone close to our young couple decided Alex is next on the list for extermination.
Captured and tortured, Alex uses her hidden abilities to escape with Branx. It soon becomes apparent, Alex was not meant to live to tell about it.
As a mysterious man appears, who is he, but more importantly what is he and why is he looking for Branx and why did he want to capture, Alex? Secrets are revealed, shattering one family and changing their lives forever.
With Branx by her side, is the love they share strong enough to survive the evils around them? Will they live long enough to find out the truth before it is too late? Alex must survive if she is to become the next Queen of Darshia.

Who said the life of a Princess, is ever easy?

A read alone or in order.

Book three of the Sex, Lies And Family Secrets, series.

– The Guy Next Door
– Dark Surprises
– You Never Know

This eBook contains coarse language, sexual adult themes, blood, vampires, witches, young love, violence, nudity, handsome – muscled men. A kick arse independent female – who knows how to shoot and wield a sword and magic, and will do anything to protect the ones she loves.
This book is written and edited in Australian/UK English. Which means spelling will be different
If you are offended by any of these themes, this book is not for you.

In the series so far –
The Guy Next Door
Dark Surprises
You Never Know

And also available in a box set, all three books – Sex, Lies And Family Secrets, series. Box set 1-2-3

The fourth book – It’s You, due for release by February, 2019
The fifth book – What You Know, due for release by September, 2019

My Review

4/5 Stars

This is a really fun read and even though I haven’t read the previous books in this series, this book is written in a way that it can be read as a standalone. When the book opens, we are shown how Alex is being groomed for her future as a princess and how she meets her love interest Branx at her high school. What seems like a straight forward romance has plenty of twists and turns, action, and suspense.

I loved just how many different paranormal beings there were in the story too. It made it interesting to have such a variety because usually paranormal stories focus on one type (Vampires, witches, werewolves etc.) but this book even had some unique entities.

Loved the book enough that I can’t wait to get a chance to go back and read books one and two!

Published by Author Kayla Krantz

Proud author responsible for Dead by Morning and The Council, fascinated by the dark and macabre. Stephen King is her all time inspiration mixed in with a little bit of Eminem and some faint remnants of the works of Edgar Allen Poe. When she began writing, she started in horror but it somehow drifted into thriller. She loves the 1988 movie Heathers. She was born and raised in Michigan but traveled across the country to where she currently resides in Texas.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: