Book Review: Gods of the Dark Web

Title: Gods of the Dark Web

Author: Lucas Mangum

Narrator: Sean Duregger

Link: https://www.audible.com/pd/Gods-of-the-Dark-Web-Audiobook/B084QJDTTC

 

Summary

From the author of Engines of Ruin comes a dark suspenseful novel for fans of Black Mirror, Edward Lee, and cosmic horror.

The internet is a scary place. Beneath Facebook and Twitter is another world. One in which anything can be obtained – for a price. A community of black markets, depraved pornography, and death. This is the dark web.

Leon was just curious. He had heard the stories of the secrets and forbidden fetishes that the dark web offered. He was an activist, protesting against war and hate. But after a protest became violent, he felt he needed protection. Being a teenager with no way to buy a gun legally, he had no choice but to turn to the dark web.

This rash decision sends Leon spiraling down into a dark side of humanity that most don’t know – or even want to know – exists. A world of murder, torture, and cannibalism. But behind all that there is something worse. Something stalking him and intent on ruining every aspect of his life.

Now, Leon is fighting for his life and reputation as he is being hunted by vile and arcane forces. They are the gods of the dark web.

 

 

 

My Review

3.5/5 Stars

First of all, this is a very graphic horror story. There were a lot of elements that turned my stomach, and I am a regular reader of darker fiction.

Stay off the dark web, you never know who might be lurking there. Gods of the Dark Web takes the reader on an extreme version of the horrors that a person who isn’t careful can find themselves in. It came off like a creepypasta with the possibility that what happened could very much happen in real life.

Very edgy story with an interesting concept. As a horror story, it definitely does its job of eliciting chills in its readers. There were a lot of things done for shock value, and I think it played into the story pretty well, making it one that I won’t forget in a while.

Narration brought the perfect edge to the work.

This book was given to me for free at my request and I provided this voluntary review.

Published by Author Kayla Krantz

Proud author responsible for Dead by Morning and The Council, fascinated by the dark and macabre. Stephen King is her all time inspiration mixed in with a little bit of Eminem and some faint remnants of the works of Edgar Allen Poe. When she began writing, she started in horror but it somehow drifted into thriller. She loves the 1988 movie Heathers. She was born and raised in Michigan but traveled across the country to where she currently resides in Texas.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: