Book Review: Follow Me

Title: Follow Me

Author: Kathleen Barber

Narrator: Corey Brill, Erin Moon, Emily Tremaine

Link: https://www.audible.com/pd/Follow-Me-Audiobook/1797103997

 

Summary

From the author of Truth Be Told (formerly titled Are You Sleeping) – now an Apple TV series of the same name – comes a cautionary tale of oversharing in the social media age for fans of Jessica Knoll and Caroline Kepnes’ You.

Everyone wants new followers…until they follow you home.

Audrey Miller has an enviable new job at the Smithsonian, a body by reformer Pilates, an apartment door with a broken lock, and hundreds of thousands of Instagram followers to bear witness to it all. Having just moved to Washington, DC, Audrey busies herself impressing her new boss, interacting with her online fan base, and staving off a creepy upstairs neighbor with the help of the only two people she knows in town: an ex-boyfriend she can’t stay away from and a sorority sister with a high-powered job and a mysterious past.

But Audrey’s faulty door may be the least of her security concerns. Unbeknownst to her, her move has brought her within striking distance of someone who’s obsessively followed her social media presence for years – from her first WordPress blog to her most recent Instagram Story. No longer content to simply follow her carefully curated life from a distance, he consults the dark web for advice on how to make Audrey his and his alone. In his quest to win her heart, nothing is off-limits – and nothing is private.

With “compelling, suspenseful” (Liz Nugent) prose, Kathleen Barber’s electrifying new thriller will have you scrambling to cover your webcam and digital footprints.

 

My Review

1/5 Stars

Disappointed.

That’s how I feel.
I’ve seen so many good reviews for this book, and I was excited to dive in, but this fell flat.

The characters got on my nerves, and the author put more time explaining what the furniture looked like than painting background stories. The high point of the book was glossed over in less than an hour, and there wasn’t much buildup before that.

This is more like a chick lit book than anything close to a thriller.

Published by Author Kayla Krantz

Proud author responsible for Dead by Morning and The Council, fascinated by the dark and macabre. Stephen King is her all time inspiration mixed in with a little bit of Eminem and some faint remnants of the works of Edgar Allen Poe. When she began writing, she started in horror but it somehow drifted into thriller. She loves the 1988 movie Heathers. She was born and raised in Michigan but traveled across the country to where she currently resides in Texas.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: