Book Review: What I Left Behind

Title: What I Left Behind (DS Jan Pearce Crime Fiction #1)

Author: Jacqueline Ward

Narrator: Laura Brydon

Link: https://www.audible.com/pd/What-I-Left-Behind-Audiobook/B0854HX9Z6

 

Summary

How far would you go to hide from the past?

One-year old Maisie Lewis is missing. DC Jan Pearce is in hiding from her past but is drafted onto the case when things escalate. What forced Jan to come back to Manchester to start a new life? Who is she hiding from? What is making this kickass woman hide away and work on cold cases rather than step up to the action? Is it business – or is it personal? A chain of paper dolls and a series of sinister messages leads Jan to the truth and into the dangerous territory of hidden secrets – but is it too late for little Maisie?

What I Left Behind is the prequel to the DS Jan Pearce Crime Fiction Series. If you love crime fiction with strong female characters who get the job done you will enjoy this fast-paced novel. Get What I Left Behind to find out DS Jan Pearce’s USP when it comes to solving crimes – and the big secret that kicks off the next part of her career in Random Acts of Unkindness and Playlist for a Paper Angel.

Fans of Angela Marsons and Lucy Clarke will enjoy What I Left Behind.

 

 

My Review

4/5 Stars

After a threat to her life in London, Jan Pearce had no choice but to relocate to a safe place in the Manchester countryside. After a little one year old girl goes missing though, she decides to risk herself and go public in the hopes of bringing the girl home.

Jan is an interesting character. As a profiler, she was an interesting way of looking at the world. She does a lot of internal musings on the things around her and her past. Although it made the story a little slow, I liked the author’s approach for characterization. Jan’s careful nature is carefully laid out this way which made it easier to really understand what kind of person she was.

The ending was very pleasing and wrapped the story up quite well. It more than made up for a few slow parts so stick with the story. You’ll be glad you did.

Narration was okay. The accent took a little bit of getting used to.

This book was given to me for free at my request, and I provided this voluntary review.

Published by Author Kayla Krantz

Proud author responsible for Dead by Morning and The Council, fascinated by the dark and macabre. Stephen King is her all time inspiration mixed in with a little bit of Eminem and some faint remnants of the works of Edgar Allen Poe. When she began writing, she started in horror but it somehow drifted into thriller. She loves the 1988 movie Heathers. She was born and raised in Michigan but traveled across the country to where she currently resides in Texas.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: