Book Review: Golem

Title: Golem

Author: PD Alleva

Link: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B09CV5823C/

Summary

“An extraordinary psychological horror book. Excellently written, with a twisted, spiraling, unexpected end that will leave you speechless.” ~ TBM Horror Experts

Detective. Angel. Victim. Devil.

A haunting tale of suspense, loss, isolation, contempt, and fear.

On November 1, 1951, war hero John Ashton was promoted to detective. His first assignment: find the district attorney’s missing daughter. But his only lead is Alena Francon, a high society sculptor and socialite committed to Bellevue’s psychiatric facility. 

Alena has a story for the new detective. A story so outlandish John Ashton refuses to heed the warning. Alena admits to incarnating Golem, a demonic force, into her statue. A devil so profound he’s infiltrated every part of New York’s infrastructure. Even worse, he uses children to serve as bodily hosts for his demonic army, unleashing a horde of devils into our world. 

When Alena’s confidant, Annette Flemming, confirms the existence of Golem, John is sent on a collision course where fate and destiny spiral into peril, and the future of the human race hangs in the balance. 

The Devil Is In The Details!

Fans of The Silence of the Lambs, Clive Barker, John Connolly, old Stephen King, and Anne Rice will be fascinated by this edge of your seat psychological horror thriller with a story that rips out the heart of humanity and throws it on a slab to be feasted on. 

My Review

5/5 Stars

Chilling and compelling, Golem is a twisted story that follows a recently-promoted detective, John Ashton, as he’s set to search for a missing child. When his only lead is an ex-socialite, Alena, who’s been in a sanitarium, he isn’t sure what to believe. He’ll quickly be pulled into a web of horror and terror, leaving him with no other choice but to believe her tale is the truth.

I thought Alena was a fascinating her character. Her choices and character growth (or destruction) or the course of the novel was very well-done. Though John has his secrets under a mask, the longer I read, the more fascinating I found his character to be as well. Alena and John became an unlikely pair as the story progresses.

It’s not very often that I read horror novels that take on the Golem myth, but PD Alleva absolutely nailed it here. While the stories I have read before spoke of gentle, guardian Golems, the idea of one turning on their creator is terrifying and such an interesting twist.

All in all, Golem is a psychological tale that will invoke all the creepy feelings.

Published by Author Kayla Krantz

Proud author responsible for Dead by Morning and The Council, fascinated by the dark and macabre. Stephen King is her all time inspiration mixed in with a little bit of Eminem and some faint remnants of the works of Edgar Allen Poe. When she began writing, she started in horror but it somehow drifted into thriller. She loves the 1988 movie Heathers. She was born and raised in Michigan but traveled across the country to where she currently resides in Texas.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: