Book Review: Golem

Title: Golem

Author: PD Alleva

Link: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B09CV5823C/

Summary

“An extraordinary psychological horror book. Excellently written, with a twisted, spiraling, unexpected end that will leave you speechless.” ~ TBM Horror Experts

Detective. Angel. Victim. Devil.

A haunting tale of suspense, loss, isolation, contempt, and fear.

On November 1, 1951, war hero John Ashton was promoted to detective. His first assignment: find the district attorney’s missing daughter. But his only lead is Alena Francon, a high society sculptor and socialite committed to Bellevue’s psychiatric facility. 

Alena has a story for the new detective. A story so outlandish John Ashton refuses to heed the warning. Alena admits to incarnating Golem, a demonic force, into her statue. A devil so profound he’s infiltrated every part of New York’s infrastructure. Even worse, he uses children to serve as bodily hosts for his demonic army, unleashing a horde of devils into our world. 

When Alena’s confidant, Annette Flemming, confirms the existence of Golem, John is sent on a collision course where fate and destiny spiral into peril, and the future of the human race hangs in the balance. 

The Devil Is In The Details!

Fans of The Silence of the Lambs, Clive Barker, John Connolly, old Stephen King, and Anne Rice will be fascinated by this edge of your seat psychological horror thriller with a story that rips out the heart of humanity and throws it on a slab to be feasted on. 

My Review

5/5 Stars

Chilling and compelling, Golem is a twisted story that follows a recently-promoted detective, John Ashton, as he’s set to search for a missing child. When his only lead is an ex-socialite, Alena, who’s been in a sanitarium, he isn’t sure what to believe. He’ll quickly be pulled into a web of horror and terror, leaving him with no other choice but to believe her tale is the truth.

I thought Alena was a fascinating her character. Her choices and character growth (or destruction) or the course of the novel was very well-done. Though John has his secrets under a mask, the longer I read, the more fascinating I found his character to be as well. Alena and John became an unlikely pair as the story progresses.

It’s not very often that I read horror novels that take on the Golem myth, but PD Alleva absolutely nailed it here. While the stories I have read before spoke of gentle, guardian Golems, the idea of one turning on their creator is terrifying and such an interesting twist.

All in all, Golem is a psychological tale that will invoke all the creepy feelings.

Kayla Krantz

Cassie Swindon

What’s your pen name and tell me about the books you like to write.

I write under my real name, Kayla Krantz. Typically, the books I like to write are darker in nature. When it comes to genre, I can range from fantasy to suspense to drama, but my favorite genres to focus on are thriller and horror.

What’s a secret your hero or heroine might keep from one another?

Secrets about their past. I write a lot of tortured hero/heroines who have a hard time opening up about their past and all the things that they’ve been through.

What is your first sentence of your most recent novel?

Cody was frozen in place as he watched the smoke gather.

What celebrity do you think would like you books most and why?

I think any of the cast of American Horror story because I draw a lot of my inspiration…

View original post 271 more words

Webtoon Fragmented Dreams by T.A. Teufel Review

Gothic Bite Magazine ©

Webtoons are gaining popularity and here, at Gothic Bite Magazine, we have an amazing reviewer, Kayla Krantz to let us know her thoughts!

Summary Of Fragmented Dreams

WRITTEN BY #1 BEST SELLING AUTHOR KAYLA KRANTZ

Plagued by never-ending nightmares and cursed with a mysterious ability to sense others’ emotions, 19-year-old Diana Massey is no stranger to the peculiar.

Bizarre events start piling up when a young man named Casimir comes to live at her family farm. Shadowy monsters and magical warriors are just the beginning!


View original post 409 more words

A Review Of Webtoon Ilword by Kayla Krantz

Gothic Bite Magazine ©

Webtoons are gaining popularity and here, at Gothic Bite Magazine, we have an amazing reviewer, Kayla Krantz to let us know her thoughts!

Summary Of Ilword

WRITTEN BY #1 BEST SELLING AUTHOR KAYLA KRANTZ

A lonely misfit wakes up in a monster world without explanation. As she explores this world, she meets many creatures; some kind, some deadly. During her search for answers, she meets a strange man but is he really human?

Will she ever figure out why she is here and will she ever find her way back home? Is that what she even really wants? Dark Fantasy Rated Teen Update schedule: twice a month


View original post 472 more words

Webtoon Light Within Shadow by BluMouse Review

Gothic Bite Magazine ©

Webtoons are gaining popularity and here, at Gothic Bite Magazine, we have an amazing reviewer, Kayla Krantz to let us know her thoughts!

Summary Of Light Within Shadow

WRITTEN BY #1 BEST SELLING AUTHOR KAYLA KRANTZ

Lizzie lives in simple town where not much happens. But strange and dangerous things have begun to stir. Never seeing the world is one thing, but how can she and her friends handle a reality that even the gods of Varaluz have never seen?

WEBTOON

Light Within Shadow‘s genre is Action and Fantasy by BluMouse.

NOTE: This comic is also available as a novel on WEBTOON


View original post 572 more words

Webtoon Mortalfied by Curly Review

Gothic Bite Magazine ©

Webtoons are gaining popularity and here, at Gothic Bite Magazine, we have an amazing reviewer, Kayla Krantz to let us know her thoughts!

Summary Of Mortalfied

WRITTEN BY #1 BEST SELLING AUTHOR KAYLA KRANTZ

Mortalfied by the creator, Curly, brings us this superb supernatural romance!

Salem’s life is turned upside down after a new body shows up at his morgue whose a lot less dead than he initially thought.

Mortalfied by Curly on Webtoon
Mortalfied by Curly on Webtoon

WEBTOON

Mortalfied‘s genre is Supernatural and Romance by Curly.

NOTE:This comic is also available as a novel onWEBTOON

*Comic is LGBTIA friendly*

The Spooky Season Has Arrived!

Spooky season is here, and Mortalfied is the perfect comic to read in celebration. The black and white aesthetic really helps you dive into the world of vampires, witches, grumpy morticians, and one charming zombie! The comic has a real movie-like feel in the way each of…

View original post 433 more words

Webtoon Somnium Theatre by _Mirach_

Gothic Bite Magazine ©

Webtoons are gaining popularity and here, at Gothic Bite Magazine, we have an amazing reviewer, Kayla Krantz to let us know her thoughts!

Summary Of Mortalfied

WRITTEN BY #1 BEST SELLING AUTHOR KAYLA KRANTZ

After an encounter with a masked stranger, Stephanie is set for a request to solve one mysterious case in a parallel universe! But there’s only one way she can reach it, by using a less known technique of lucid dreaming…

WEBTOON

Somnium Theatre’s genre is Crime, Mystery and Fantasy.

NOTE: This comic is also available at WEBTOON


View original post 535 more words

Book Review: Jeffrey Dahmer

Title: Jeffrey Dahmer: The Terrifying Story of the Milwaukee Cannibal (Serial Killer True Crime)

Author: James Richmond

Narrator: Aaron Smith

Link: https://www.audible.com/pd/Jeffrey-Dahmer-Audiobook/B09B4G8NSY

Summary

Uncover the disturbing true story behind the infamous Milwaukee cannibal.

Delving into the harrowing true story behind the Milwaukee cannibal, this thrilling true-crime book explores the life and crimes of Jeffrey Dahmer in unparalleled gritty detail. With a gut-churning account of Dahmer’s killings, along with the twisted mind that drove him to commit his sick crimes, Jeffrey Dahmer: The Terrifying Story of the Milwaukee Cannibal offers listeners a detailed glimpse into Dahmer’s morbid and sadistic psyche.

As a fascinating listen for fans of true crime and the morbidly curious, this unsettling book explores the strange life of Jeffrey Dahmer. Including the earliest red flags in his childhood, his multiple murders, his odd obsessions, and his eventual discovery and arrest, you’ll also discover the trial that shook the nation and Dahmer’s eventual fate.

As a disturbing yet must-have addition to any collection of serial killer books, this true crime story will remind you of the seemingly ordinary people who walk among us – and the dark secrets they might be hiding.

My Review

5/5 Stars

I thought this book took an interesting look into Dahmer’s crime spree. Though I was already familiar with the case, I like the amount of time that the author spent on Dahmer’s early years and even gave an idea of what his parents were like. I learned some things there that I did not know before. The way that the author gets into the mind of Dahmer throughout the story was an interesting touch that made this a compelling listen.

Narration went well with the material.

This book was given to me for free at my request, and I provided this voluntary review.

Book Review: The Aurora Glitch

Title: The Aurora Glitch

Author: McKenzie Rae

Link: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B08WCKV7VX/

Summary


Waking up on a remote backroad with no memory of who you are or where you came from makes finding your identity pretty difficult. It’s even harder if you’re a dog, trust me. I have no way to tell these humans that I don’t even know my own name, and the only person who seems to have any idea what’s happening to me is the robotic voice in my head that calls me Subject 029.

My Review

5/5 Stars

After waking up as a dog one day, Harley has no previous memories of her life. She does her best to get by, eventually adopted by a nice home. In her new life, she starts to notice that there are things that are wrong. There’s a voice in her head. One that calls her nine. It is just possible that she might not be a dog after all.

Mckenzie Rae is quickly becoming one of my favorite authors. Her sci-fi thrillers are always so gritty and intense. The Aurora Glitch was no different. I love the way the author slowly fed us bits of Nine’s background. While Nine is figuring out who she is, we are also introduced to characters who made Nine’s story possible. Dana, a scientist gone rogue who wanted to save Nine, is an interesting character too. I admit, I didn’t like him much when he was first introduced, but by the end of the story, he grew on me.

I loved the entire science aspect of the story as well. The premise of sending a person’s mind into different host bodies opens up the possibility of so many twists and turns to come. I’m happy to see that this is book one of a series because these characters definitely need more than just one book. I can’t wait to see how Nine and Dana will come out on top in book two (or will they).